Women’s World T20 Final – Australia v England

Australia is the Women’s World T20 Champions for the 2018 edition of the competition after defeating rivals England by an impressive margin of eight wickets with 29 deliveries remaining.

Batting first, England had their most disappointing performance of their tournament so far with the bat as they were bowled out for just 105 in 19.4 overs by an impressive Australia bowling line-up.

Apart from Heather Knight and Danielle Wyatt, no England player scored more than six.

Wyatt was actually the highest scorer in this match, scoring 43 from 37 which included six boundaries, but England lost regular wickets and apart from Knight’s 25 from 28, the middle and lower order couldn’t recover as Australia dominated largely due to their spinners.

Australia not only took frequent wickets but also kept the run rate in check. Ashleigh Gardner was the best bowler in this match, taking 3/22 from her four overs. Georgia Wareham was also good with the ball, taking 2/11 off three overs.

With Alyssa Healy back to her best after concussion concerns leading into the semi-final, Australia had every right to feel confident of chasing down 106 to win the title.

The number 1 T20 side in the world did just what was required without being wonderful with the bat, but there is nothing wrong with that when a title is on the line. Healy again started well but was out for 22 from 20 deliveries.

At 2/44 from 7.1 overs, Gardner and Meg Lanning were at the crease together and guided their team to the score required to see them claim the Women’s T20 trophy. Gardner made 33 not out from 26 balls, including three 6’s. Lanning played her part as she made a measured 28 from 30, taking Australia over the line with a final score of 2/106 from 15.1 overs.

Taking the two wickets for England was Sophie Ecclestone and Danielle Hazell. Ecclestone was the best bowler for the current ODI champions, taking 1/12 from her four overs at an economy rate of three.

However, at the end of the day, it was Australia who reigned supreme, winning their fourth Women’s World T20 champions and making clear their number 1 status in Women’s cricket.

Australia 2/106 (Ashleigh Gardner 33 not out, Sophie Ecclestone 1/12) defeated England 105 all out (Danielle Wyatt 43, Ashleigh Gardner 3/22).



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s


Up ↑

Create your website at WordPress.com
Get started
%d bloggers like this: